Queues: Extension Poll times | Phones not rejoining

G’day!

I am new to VitalPBX and trying to implement as many configurations as I can from previous PBX’s I’ve used into Vital, to see how well I can consolidate services. This particular issue was something that worked for me on 3CX with this particular client I migrated recently.

My current issue I would like some assistance with is the polling for phone availability in queues. I would like to have it so that if I’m on a call and another call comes in on a queue that I am logged in to, I can hang up and immediately have Vital acknowledge my extension is available again and start ringing me.

For Example; I receive a call on my Reception queue, and answer it on my phone (Ext101). Another call comes in on the queue, but the other users for that queue are not available. I can tell that Ext102 and Ext103 are receiving a call due to the BLF keys on my phone, but am not interrupted during my active call. Once I finish or redirect the call, I hang up the phone and the still-active pending call immediately comes through on my phone ready for me to answer.

Currently, I can only mimic the experience with low Member Ring Time and Retry Time on a longer Queue Ring Time, to have the phone system retry every member between ringtone cycles. This is not a valid solution as some clients have older staff who might not answer in time, or be thrown off by the pulsing-screen experienced with this setup.

I can also give them the desired access to incoming calls by enabling calls to busy extensions in Queues, or by making it a Ring Group, but this is also not a valid solution. The tone that plays during incoming calls is undesirable for reception staff or call centre personnel who need to focus on their current call and consistently have a higher call volume.